Some ‘Typing’ Habits . . . We Use and Abuse.

There are Jargon pertaining to my work place being used in this write-up. A reference is given at the end for necessary look up.

The other day I was preparing a notesheet [1].  After an hour of sifting through all the files and I was done with a technical write-up of the whole issue and necessary steps that are being proposed for the same. As in every hierarchical setup, I forwarded the file to the next level.

The next day, I got the file back with the tracing tag written ISO [2].

It was not supposed to be back at my table. I was somehow annoyed. I opened the Note again and re-read it, thinking that there had been some anomaly in the data given. At three places, were red circles. I let out a loud laugh. Sigh! I had put in “Smileys” in a formal official note. “ 🙂 ”

I claim that I never placed them ‘knowingly’. But my sub conscious mind could not distinguish between a personal write-up and an official one.

Even today I have to re-read anything I write- first for the truth, facts and details of it, second the grammatical structuring and the last 🙂 these smileys.

This is a habit I (most of us) abuse, overuse. This includes, “lol”, “lmao”, all those permutations and combinations with ‘:’ ‘;’ ) ( >< _ – etc etc.

The other thing is the extensive use of the “.” (dot, period, full stop). There should be just 03 (three) of them i.e. “. . .” and not “. . . . . .” which I (most of us) unknowingly type it out.

And oh! I have learnt there should be only 01 (one) exclamation mark “!” after an exclamation.  Which means there is no “Ah!!!!!” its just “Ah!” 🙂

And its not “Really?????” it is just “Really?”

As you read this, you may find and realize lots of these ‘habits’ we often tend to abuse. Don’t tell me its not true. You don’t get it in the final work doesn’t mean you don’t do it. Its just because you go back the whole text and delete them. 😛

Just for fun, you may post your typing habits (if you wish to, that is).

Happy writing and abusing of “smileys”.

==============

References:

[1] Notesheet:       These are documents that are being generated to initiate any work (which may be considered as the project). It includes all available data (facts and figures), references to earlier work, proposal, justifications for the proposal and all necessary information deem necessary. It is an important document in any Public Organisation. The initiator is 90% responsible for the document and the rest is shared among the Higher approving authority.

[2] ISO:                 An abbreviation for the designation “Information Systems Officer”. Most commonly the Initiator.

2 comments on “Some ‘Typing’ Habits . . . We Use and Abuse.

  1. Wow Len!!
    I can totally empathize with you in this case.
    I can imagine the horror in CM(T&I)’s mind at being made to deal with new age stuffs like smileys. 😉
    But I guess, your reference Point [1] needs a correction.
    If notesheet leads to some positive outcome, then 90% responsibility is with the approver.
    If notesheet gets critical acclaim for being spot on, then 98% responsibility is with the approver.
    And if notesheet has just one error in it, 100% responsibilyt is with the initiator. 🙂 Add to it the long-term-memory-of-the-approver-dedicated-to-remembering-faults-in-notesheet.
    Have fun with paper juggling.
    🙂

  2. Dev, point noted. Come to think of it, yes, you are correct on the matrix of responsibility against the outcome. Actually the CM asked me (humorously that is) if I have some issue with a faulty keyboard.

    @others (if there is): Refer for Ref [1] to previous comment reply for ground reality. The actual reference is for book knowledge. lol

Your thoughts are appreciated. Thanks!

