The Battle


The Battle

Len Kamei


Why do I long,
For days to get better;
For winds to grow calmer;
And for my heart to grow older.


I am baffled how,
My mind is confused still,
To draw the line,
Between what can be and what cannot.


For with each dusk that comes,
The burden gets heavier;
With the battle to establish or not,
What the heart wants.


Oh, why do I lose sleep?
Over the thought as silly as it is.
And over the proposition for a thing,
As dubious as this.

**********

Your thoughts are appreciated. Thanks!

