And When I Die

And when I die

Len Kamei


When I lie in my casket,
don’t lay flowers, but relate memories,
and hymns of the journey taken,
and poems of joy and laughter.
For in them, I delight greatly.


And when they lower me down,
don’t cry, for I am not gone,
I will be there always beside you
as the chill of the wind
and the warmth of the sun.


When you look up,
I will be shining brightly upon you.
Don’t cry, but be merry.
And when the time comes,
let me go, and hold on
to the loving hand of
the one that will love you then.

====@LenKameiPoetry====

6 comments on “And When I Die

  1. ‘I will be there always beside you
    as the chill of the wind
    and the warmth of the sun’

    Love these lines…a wonderful, life-affirming poem even in the midst of death

    • Ah! if you had only asked me three years ago, I would have. But anyway, you could work for my will LOL

      Thanks for reading, Dev. As always, it is much appreciated. Do drop in one or two of yours, I would be honoured.

Your thoughts are appreciated. Thanks!

